Journal of West Indian Literature Logo
University of the West Indies Logo

Editorial Team

Editor in Chief

Michael A. Bucknor
is Professor and Tier 1 Canada Research Chair Nominee in the Department of English and Film Studies at University of Alberta. He is also co-editor with Alison Donnell of The Routledge Companion to Anglophone Caribbean Literature, carries out research on Austin Clarke, Caribbean-Canadian writing, postcolonial literatures and theory, diaspora studies, masculinities and popular culture.

Managing Editor

Lisa Outar
is an independent scholar who publishes in the areas of Indo-Caribbean literature, feminist writing and the connections between the Caribbean and other sites of the indentureship diaspora. She is co-editor of Indo-Caribbean Feminist Thought: Genealogies, Theories, Enactments.

Senior Editor / Book Review Editor

Antonia McDonald
Antonia MacDonald is Professor in the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, School of Arts and Sciences, St. George’s University, Grenada. She publishes in the following areas: contemporary Caribbean women writers, St. Lucian literature and Eastern Caribbean popular culture.


Senior Editor

Raphael Dalleo
Raphael Dalleo is Professor of English at Bucknell University. His book, American Imperialism’s Undead: The Occupation of Haiti and the Rise of Caribbean Anticolonialism, won the Caribbean Studies Association’s 2017 Gordon K. and Sibyl Lewis Award for best book. American Imperialism’s Undead was completed with the support of an NEH-sponsored residency at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. His other books are Caribbean Literature and the Public Sphere, Bourdieu and Postcolonial Studies (editor), Haiti and the Americas (coeditor), Caribbean Literature in Transition, 1920-1970 (coeditor) and The Latino/a Canon and the Emergence of Post-Sixties Literature (coauthor).


Ronald Cummings is Associate Professor in the Department of English and Cultural Studies at McMaster University, Canada. His research focuses on critical Maroon studies, gender and sexuality studies and on Caribbean literary historiography. He is co-editor (with Alison Donnell) of Caribbean Literature in Transition, 1970-2020 (Cambridge University Press, 2021).


Leah Rosenberg is Associate Professor of English at the University of Florida, author of Nationalism and the Formation of Caribbean Literature and co-editor with J. Dillon Brown of Beyond Windrush: Rethinking Postwar West Indian Literature. She is co-chair of the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) advisory board and graduate coordinator for the English department of the University of Florida.


Nicola Hunte is a lecturer in the Literatures in English discipline at the Cave Hill campus of the University of the West Indies. With her interest in the creative arts, she serves as the editor of POUi, Cave Hill’s journal of creative writing as well as on the Frank Collymore Literary Endowment committee for the promotion of literary arts in Barbados. She has published on popular culture, specific to Barbadian expression, on and offline. Her research focus includes the critical texts of Guyanese writer/theorist Wilson Harris and speculative fiction, particularly from the Caribbean and the African cultural diaspora.


Cornel Bogle is Assistant Professor in the Department of English at Simon Fraser University and a scholar of Caribbean and Black diasporic literatures. His research on Austin Clarke, Caribbean Canadian cultural production, masculinities, and poetics have been published, or is forthcoming, in Canadian Literature, Studies in Canadian Literature, Canada and Beyondsx salon, and Topia: Canadian Journal of Cultural Studies.


Advisory Board

Edward Baugh (Emeritus, University of the West Indies, Mona)
Laurence Breiner (Boston University)
Rhonda Cobham-Sander (Amherst College)
Daniel Coleman (McMaster University)
Anne Collett (University of Wollongong)
Denise DeCaires Narain (University of Sussex)
Alison Donnell (University of East Anglia)
Norval Edwards (University of the West Indies, Mona)
Curdella Forbes (Howard University)
Aaron Kamugisha (University of the West Indies, Cave Hill)
Mark McWatt (Emeritus, University of the West Indies, Cave Hill)
Evelyn O’Callaghan (Emeritus, University of the West Indies, Cave Hill)
Tanya L. Shields (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
Geraldine Skeete (University of the West Indies, St. Augustine)
Faith Smith (Brandeis University)
Emily Taylor (Presbyterian College)
Maureen Warner-Lewis, (Emeritus, University of the West Indies, Mona)